5/ I Remember Taking off the Training Wheels

I remember learning to ride a bike by preparing to fall and not get hurt too badly. The longsleeves and thick jeans, the accidental reflex of holding my breath as I began to fall; it was all so bracing and normal.

Daddy had to walk away and leave me alone. I had to ride in circles in the yard long enough until the magic happened: fall down until you get your balance.

I wonder why we don’t afford other bits of life the same freedom to fail until it works?

Tell me something

