I Entered An Album Art Competition

Elise Witek is holding a competition for the cover of her new album, Beak to Bark. I am stretching her parameters a bit. I do not so much expect to win. But I did have fun.

I took the photo today while on a Portuguese “mountain” with my friends, Elijah and Sofia. (They really wanted me to take a photo of a dead rat. I declined.)

If you’re into that sort of thing, here’s how I made it, in reverse order:

I’ve never used Photoshop before, nor do I have it, but I found this free online app called Splashup to use. Neither do I know how to edit with layers, but I used to watch Trevor Borden do it, so today I managed the basics. I read this article to learn how to turn my photo into a faux-polaroid. I edited the image on iPhoto. I wrote the quotation on a ripped advert page from a 1961 Family Circle magazine. I used Mama Rose’s black sharpie.

Comments
One Response to “I Entered An Album Art Competition”
  1. Maria says:

    you creative genius you – thanks for the tips/links.

    you do know you’re cool don’t you?

Tell me something

