Request

I would like to dance now, dear.
I would like to sway with you and still (stay
Still, now) in the silence; we meet here.
Do not take me from this place-
When the pulse of practicality
Beats as a drum in our ears.

I would like ferocious laughter, dear.
I would like belly-shaking laughter-
The sort that turns heads and makes
Strangers laugh at the sound, as
In a theater or film-house when
We laugh (accidentally) at the laughter
Of another, since our seats provide such
Pleasant temporary communities.

I would like to celebrate, Lover.
I would like to open wide the windows,
As after a Portuguese football victory-
Clapping wildly, beating pots and pans
Along with the family of this small town:
For the proud pregnancy of the Night,
For the delicate delivery of Morning.

-Estoril, Portugal
24 junho 2004

Comments
2 Responses to “Request”
  1. Melissa says:

    nelly – this is so beautiful. It makes me feel warm inside and stirs that longing for something more that is buried in the deep places.

  2. waxing poetic now, little one.

Tell me something

